The founders

Jean Morin - ENG, PMP

Mr. Morin has over 25 years of experience as an engineer in the telecommunications industry, more specifically in the field of radio communications. During his career, he was fortunate to work as an employee or consultant for companies such as STM, the SPVM, Hydro -Quebec, Microcell, Rogers, Bell Mobility, Nortel, Télébec, Inukshuk-JV, Videotron and Eastlink. His varied practical experiences are in the areas of transmission networks (fiber and microwave radios), cellular telephony access networks (GSM, CDMA, W-CDMA, HSPA +), mobile radio networks and access technologies such as Wi-Fi and WiMax.

Mr. Morin has extensive expertise in RF (radio frequency) engineering, network access planning, deployment/network building, team coordination, technology evaluation and building customized solutions. As a project manager, he further demonstrates excellent leadership skills and decision-making in ambiguous situations. He is also recognized for his vision, his analytical capabilities, his ability to synthesize information, and the quality of his written communication (specifications, reports, tenders, etc...). Fluid in both English and French, Mr. Morin is passionate about customer satisfaction.

Jean.png

Sylvain Lafrenière - ENG, MBA

Mr. Sylvain Lafrenière is a very effective, dynamic, customer-focussed and results-oriented leader. He has a strong knowledge of technology trends and network deployment with over 25 years of experience in strategic planning, development, design, engineering and operations in the telecommunications industry. He is always thoroughly engaged in all the projects he is involved in, and is recognized by his pairs for his analytical skills, sense of urgency, passion and dedication to the team.

Before developing Origin, Mr. Lafrenière founded Orkestra in 2011, a consultancy which specialized in strategic planning and business analysis to help enterprises develop and expand their telecommunications business.

Mr. Lafrenière is also the former General Manager, Wireless Technologies at Videotron from 2005 to 2011 where he built a new team focused on wireless technologies and the deployment of a new 3G network leading to Videotron’s launch of its 3G+ mobile services in September 2010 : Network Planning, RF Engineering and Design, and Network Deployment, including site development, site acquisition, permitting and relations with landlords, municipalities and other authorities.

Prior to Videotron, Mr. Lafrenière was at Microcell/Fido for 12 years, from its start-up, growth into a large enterprise, and its ultimate acquisition by Rogers Communications. As the Senior Director of Network Planning & Design, he was in charge of the long term technology evolution roadmaps, tactical planning for the core and transmission networks, RF planning & design, network design, hardware management and switch room construction.

Mr. Lafrenière graduated from École Polytechnique de Montréal in 1992 with a bachelor’s degree in Physics Engineering and in 2003 from École des Hautes Études Commerciales with a Masters in Business Administration focused on Management and Finance. He is also a member of the Ordre des Ingénieurs du Québec.

Sylvain.png
All rights reserved © Origine 2020   Conception Web : Voyou - Performance créative

Les fondateurs

Jean Morin - ING, PMP

Monsieur Morin possède plus de 25 années d’expérience à titre d’ingénieur dans l’industrie des télécommunications, plus spécifiquement dans le domaine des radiocommunications. Au cours de sa carrière, il a eu la chance d’œuvrer à titre d’employé ou de consultant pour des compagnies telles que la STM, le SPVM, Hydro-Québec, Microcell, Rogers, Bell Mobilité, Nortel, Télébec, Inukshuk-JV, Vidéotron et Eastlink. Ses expériences pratiques variées touchent les réseaux de transmission (fibre et radios micro-ondes), les réseaux d’accès de téléphonie cellulaire (GSM, CDMA, W-CDMA, HSPA+), les réseaux de radio-mobiles et les technologies d’accès Wi-Fi et WiMax.

M. Morin possède une solide expertise en ingénierie RF (radiofréquences), planification de réseaux d’accès, déploiement/construction de réseaux, coordination d'équipes, et en évaluation de technologies et de solutions taillées sur mesure. À titre de gestionnaire de projets, il démontre en outre d’excellentes habiletés en matière de leadership et de prise de décisions lors de situations ambiguës. Il est également reconnu pour sa vision, son esprit analytique, son esprit de synthèse, et la qualité de ses différents documents écrits (devis, rapports, appels d’offres, etc.). C’est un communicateur bilingue fortement orienté vers la satisfaction de la clientèle.

Jean.png

Sylvain Lafrenière - ING, MBA

Monsieur Sylvain Lafrenière est un leader dynamique et efficace, orienté vers les clients et les résultats. Il possède une connaissance détaillée des tendances technologiques et des déploiements, comptant plus de 25 ans d’expérience en planification stratégique, développement, conception, ingénierie et opérations dans l’industrie des télécommunications. Il est extrêmement engagé dans tous les projets où il est impliqué et est reconnu pour ses habiletés analytiques, pour son sens de l’urgence, pour sa passion et son dévouement pour l’équipe.

Avant de fonder Origine, M. Lafrenière a créé en 2011 Orkestra, une firme spécialisée en planification stratégique et en intelligence d’affaires dans l’industrie des télécommunications.

Il a auparavant été Directeur Général, Technologies sans fil, de 2005 à 2011, chez Vidéotron où il a créé une nouvelle équipe centrée sur les technologies sans fil et le déploiement d’un tout nouveau réseau sans fil de 3e génération menant au lancement des services 3G+ de Vidéotron en septembre 2010 : planification du réseau, conception et ingénierie radiofréquence et déploiement du réseau incluant la conception et l’ingénierie des sites sans fil, l’acquisition des sites, les droits de construction et les permis, les relations avec les propriétaires fonciers, les municipalités et autres autorités.

Avant de se joindre à Vidéotron, M. Lafrenière a été chez Microcell/Fido durant 12 ans, de l’entreprise en démarrage à la grande entreprise, et ultimement à son acquisition par Rogers Communications. Il y occupait le poste de Directeur Senior, Planification et conception, ayant comme principales responsabilités l'évolution technologique, la planification long terme, la planification tactique et la conception du réseau coeur et de la transmission, la planification et la conception RF, et l'ingénierie et la construction des salles de commutation.

M. Lafrenière est diplômé en Génie Physique de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal (1992) et a obtenu un MBA concentration Finances et Management de l’École des Hautes Études Commerciales en 2003. Il est également un membre de l’Ordre des Ingénieurs du Québec.

Sylvain.png
Tous droits réservés © Origine 2019   Conception Web : Voyou - Performance créative